PDA

View Full Version : Seeking allround wave-board

lhh
11th March 2008, 02:29 AM
Hi there.
I sail in Denmark in the Baltic Sea and Kattegat and would like to exchange my much beloved Fan.Goya 80 (03-model , 250x54) for a new 08 wave-board.
My weight is 78 kg and I have been windsurfing for 30 years .
I am searching for a one-only wave-board and would therefore like the new wave-board to have the same range as my current board: I use a 5,2 and
4,5 m Ezzy-wave on the board and only seldom (once a year maybee) my 4,0 m., so the board must be comfortable esp. with the 5,2 and 4,5. I like to jump(no loops ,I am 45 yrs) and want to train/perfect the wave-riding part.The waves are normally 1-2 meter only seldom more , since I dont sail in the North Sea.
So the question for the Starboard team : I know the EVO 75 will give me more wave-riding , but will it be as early planing with a 5,2 and as controllable with my 4,5 / 4,0 m ,as the Goya 80 it is going to replace?
Or do You have other suggestions ?
Thanks in advance.
LHH

Ola_H
13th March 2008, 02:32 AM
If you want something close to your Goya, the PA74 will be it. If will easily cover the range you mention. I think that board would offer a similar "fast and effective" feel as your Goya (which was a fast board too) but in a more modern and compact package.

But then there is the EVO, as you write...
If you're serious about perfecting the wave riding in the Baltic sea conditions, the E75 will in my opinion make this a much easier job. You loose a bit of rail bit feel (but it still bites, just with a less well defined feel) and while it planes as early as a PA74 with a 5.2, it need some more coaxing to get onto a plane and go upwind when you're at the absolute min planing limit. But you gain an almost fantastic ability to go more vertical towards the lip when wave riding. When I watch people wave ride, this stage is where most have their problems and EVOs simply make it easier meaning faster progress.