PDA

View Full Version : the right Rio size

Chris Pressler
2nd December 2008, 06:59 PM
Hi Roger and all others on this forum,
I think about a Rio, but I am not sure about the size.
Intermediate sailors with 80 to 100 kg will use it in lightest wind up to medium wind, most of the time on sweetwater. The board should be a tool, which makes windsurfing possible on all days my friends will come to the lake and give them the chance to improve their non-planning skills very quick.
I think about the 195 l sized model...

Thanks in advance for your ideas,
Chris

Roger
3rd December 2008, 09:32 AM
Hi Chris,
I've been using the Rio M (195 liter) for about 8 months, and I really like it.
It's good in < planing windspeeds with the CB down, and also quite good with a 56-60 cm
fin with the CB up in planing mode.
One of the best transition/dual purpose boards I've ever sailed.
The Rio M should be good for up to 90 Kg sailors for sure, and it won't sink under a 100 KG sailor, but it may be a little sluggish under that much weight, but a larger rig should help.
I've sailed it with 5.6 m2 to 8.5 m2 rigs and it's pretty sweet, even in fairly choppy 5.6 m2 conditions.
I've used it most of all as my "tow board" when teaching beginnners, with 4.2 and 5.0 m2 Sailworks Retro Ripper II trainer sails. I can sail this board all day while teaching in lit winds. I attach a bungee tether between the mast foot on the Rio M and the nose of one of my older high volume Start boards. Most of my students are "off the tether" and sailing on their own in < 10 minutes.
Hope this helps,

Chris Pressler
3rd December 2008, 10:25 PM
Thanks a lot Roger. That helps very much. I have to add that my main focus is to find a size for a 80 kg heavy person.
Do you guess that the 175 model is too small at all for a 80 kg rider?
Thanks,
Chris

Roger
4th December 2008, 02:31 PM
Hi Chris,
I weigh about 80 Kg. (175lbs.=79Kg) so I'm sure the '08/'09 Rio M (195 liter) will work very nicely for an 80 Kg. sailor.