PDA

View Full Version : Next thing to get ? Boards, Sail or fin ?

Youri
6th April 2009, 05:49 AM
Hi,

I am glad to be a new member of this community.

Here is a bit of history you will need to know to answer my question. I'm 185lbs and I have been windsurfing for 4 years now, the first two year on club gear ( which was very old, long narrow board) and the last 2 years on my own stuff. I own a 2006 Starboard Go 155L FAST, and a 6.9m Neilpryde Expression. I also bought a Poison RX 110L used cause I wanted to try a smaller board for high wind days. My skills are still pretty intermediate, I can get in the footstrap and waterstart if the wind is good, but even though I know the techniques to jibbes, I haven't really completed one yet.

So, what should be my next purchase if I want to improve ? I know I would be able to handle a 130 L, and was looking in that direction ( i.e a Carve 131 ). But maybe sticking to the go and getting a smaller fin to make it easier to jibe ( I have the big straight Drake Racing fin only) would be just what I need to start jibing.

And, I know I should get more sails, what do you recommend, smaller for my 110L or Go to make it easier to jibe and control on those windy day, or bigger for light wind on the Go ? and what size ?

I windsurf in Barrie, Ontario and Québec city.

Thank You

Youri

vikingsail
6th April 2009, 09:33 AM
I am going to assume that you are trying to be prepared for those days when the wind goes above 20 mph but not above 25.
1. Get another fin. Do you fight weeds in your area? A 14.5 inch weed fin would work well with the 6.9 and a 12.5 inch weed or wave fin would help on the 20 mph days.
2. Get the 130 carve. the 6.9 will still work with it. Learn to tune the 6.9 for overpowered days.
3. Get a 5.8-6.0 sail for the windier white cap days.

crazychemical
6th April 2009, 08:28 PM
4. keep practicing on the GO and the 110 ... And you may want to consider getting a bigger sailrange before getting more boards ...

Youri