PDA

View Full Version : Just moved up to a Fanatic Ultra Cat - have questions

Denny
10th September 2009, 01:01 PM
I just moved up from a Windsurfer 1 board that I played around with off and on for 20 years to a 12' Fanatic Ultra Cat with a Mistral adjustable mastbase. I like it a lot but I have a lot of things to learn. Mast foot placement for one. I am 6' tall & about 200 Lbs. I had a hard time sailing close to the wind the last time I had it out. Where should the mast foot be placed in light winds vs heavy winds? I am a novice so when I say light winds probably less than 15 knots. Is there a strategy WRT mast placement for sailing close hauled vs sailing downwind?

Another question concerns on the centerboard. At what point should I retract it? My old board it was always down.

Ken
10th September 2009, 10:53 PM
Hi Denny,

I sailed and raced long boards for many years (Mistral Superlight, F2 Lightening, Mistral Equipe II XR). I am familiar with the Ultra Cat, but have never sailed one.

Mast foot placement - While learning (tacking & jibing), keeping it in the center is generally a good idea. For pointing (sailing close to the wind), the track should be all the way forward. However, your weight may play a role and you may have to move it back a little if the nose of board rides too low. This is the setting in both light and strong winds.

Sailing (not planing) deep downwind, keep the track forward. The only time you put the track all the way back is when you have enough wind and sail to plane with good speed and you are in the foot straps. If running deep down wind and planing, but not in the foot straps, the track should be in the middle. The idea for downwind sailing is to keep the board flat on the water. If you sink the tail, you will slow down, that's why the track should be forward, to keep you in the center of the board, and the board flat.

With your weight, you will need to experiment some, and there may be some variations to what I have said.