Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Windsurfing School (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Formula questions (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=123)

Kevin 24th August 2006 07:17 PM

Formula questions

I've been using a 2000 Formula F155 for about 5 years and love it. I'm 175 lbs and recreationally sail lakes in MN. I mainly use the F155 with my 8.0 retro and occaisonally my 9.5. With the 8.0 I often sail on 10-20 mph days and if pinched for time often ride with winds going into mid 20s. I love the board because I can sail way up wind and explore the entire lakes.

It's got a few dings so I'm considering upgrading to a used 2003 formula 147 wood. I know the F147 are wider (100 vs 85) and shorter (232 vs 270).
Will it work as good in 8.0 conditions or will it feel too big (ie wide), especially when the wind picks up to upper teens?

What fin will be optimal for the 147 and 8.0? 58 cm or 70 cm?

Will it go upwind as well or better F155?

Will it be even harder to go downwind?

Does it have similar reaching speeds?

Thanks for your insights.
Kevin

Roger 29th August 2006 05:43 AM

RE: Formula questions

Hi Kevin,
Sorry for the long delaay in my reply here. I have been working aboard the ships and traveling to demos pretty much non-stop since you posted your request. I also did not have internet access over the weekend.
As far as the "differences" between your 85 cm wide F-155 and the 2003 F-147, I think you are going to find the F-155 was better with small sails like your 8.0 m2 Retro.
The F-147 will definitely go upwind higher and faster, probably go off the wind faster, but with only your 8.0 m2 Retro, I'm not sure you will have the power you need to take full advantage of the F-147 with a 70 cm fin.