Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Ask Our Team (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   iSONIC 101 TOO BIG FOR 6.2M AND 73KG?? (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1772)

van 2nd May 2007 08:02 PM

iSONIC 101 TOO BIG FOR 6.2M AND 73KG??

HI GUYS

MY NAME IS VAN AND I HAVE BEEN WIDSURFING FOR JUST OVER 20 YRS. I LIVE IN ATHENS, GREECE I WEIGH 73 KG AND I'M ABT 1.78M HEIGH AND I'M 36 YRS OLD. I HAVE COMPETED IN THE PAST IN MANY RACES HERE LOCALLY AND DON'T WANT TO BOAST BUT I CAN HOLD MY OWN.

LAST WEEK I TOOK OUT MY NEW iSONIC 101 OUT WITH AN RS SLALOM 6.2M AND MY WHISTLING 34 DRAKE FIN SUPPLIED WITH THE BOARD. (SEE MY PREVIOUS QUESTION ON THE WHISTLING FIN. I DID WHAT YOU RECOMMENDED BUT STILL IT WHISTLES SAME AS BEFORE)THE WIND WAS ABT 5 BEAUFORT OFFSHORE AND I SAIL ABT 400-1KM AWAY FROM THE SHORE AND WITH BIG BIG CHOP. ALL WAS OK AT FIRST. SUDDENLY THE WIND PICKED UP A BIT AND THE BOARD BECAME A PIG TO CONTROL. THE SAIL WAS NO PROBLEM BUT THE BOARD ALTHOUGH DAMN FAST WAS REALLY HARD TO CONTROL IN THE CHOP. I WAS EVEN FINDING HARD TO CHANGE THE ANGLE OF ATTACK. THE BOARD JUST WOULDN'T RESPOND.

I'VE BEEN WINDSURFING FOR A LONG TIME AND I'M MORE OF AN OLD SCHOOL SLALOM KIND OF GUY BUT I READ A FEW THREADS ON THE FORUM AND WAS CONVINCED TO TRY OUT THE 101.

WHAT CAN U RECOMMEND. WAS THE FIN TOO BIG, OR IS THE BOARD TOO BIG FOR ME FOR A 6.2M??? SHOULD I SET THE FOOTSTRAPS IN THE MIDDLE FOR CASES LIKE THESE (CURRENTLY THEY ARE AT THE BACK).

THE PROBLEM IS WHERE I SAIL WE DON'T HAVE THE LUXURY TO COME TO SHORE AND CHANGE SAILS/FINS/FOOTSTRAPS ETC ETC. WHEN WE GO OUT YOU HAVE TO MAKE DO WITH WHAT YOU STARTED WHEN YOU LEFT THE SHORE NO MATTER WHAT THE WIND DOES.