Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Ask Our Team (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Rio, Go or Apollo (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1817)

jakob Helbig 10th May 2007 05:26 AM

Rio, Go or Apollo

Hi,

I am just starting to learn the great sport of windsurfing. I am pretty much a beginner, but I am getting well into planing and using the trapez.

I have tried out a Go 155, that semed to me as a great board.

So, now that I am considering buying a board, I have looked at Go155, Rio S and Apollo. Apollo might be total overkill for a semi-novice like me? Which of the other boards (Go 155 or Rio S) has got the most speed and planing ability?

Thanks,

Jakob

o2bnme 10th May 2007 08:38 AM

RE: Rio, Go or Apollo

I agree that the Apollo is overkill for what you need.

I guess one thing to consider between the Rio S and the Go 155 would be the centerboard. Choose the Rio if you want the safety net of the centerboard (makes it easier to head upwind) or the Go if you don't.

Roger 10th May 2007 10:32 PM

Hi Jakob,
You didn't give us much information here.
What is your weight?
What wind conditions do you sail in most often, and what size rigs are you looking at for your new board?
I pretty much agree that the Apollo would not be a real good choice.
It's pretty fragile, and has a limited range of use (up to about 15 knots.
If you liked the GO 155 and weigh < 80 Kg that would be a really good choice.
Adding the centerboard (the Rio) will detract from the early planing and make the board heavier so if you don&#39;t rely on a centerboard to stay upwind now, there&#39;s very little reason to add one.
If you are heavier than aboout 75 Kg. then the GO 170 might be the better choice.
Hope this helps,

jakob Helbig 11th May 2007 02:04 AM

Excellent, thanks guys. I am about 83 kilos, might have to consider Go170...