Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Ask Our Team (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Futura 122 spinout - Q for Roger Jackson (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4036)

SpeedyG 14th June 2008 10:12 PM

Futura 122 spinout - Q for Roger Jackson

I have been sailing for 20+ years, weigh 87kg, with about 10 good fins in my quiver, so I think I know about fins, set up, and board control. But there is obviously a gap in my knowledge!

I hardly ever spin out. During first sessions on my new Futura 122 with a powered up Ezzy 7.0 Freeride, I was disappointed by a lot of spinout using the 40 cm stock fin. Spinouts occured both upwind and, really surprisingly, on a fast broad reach. All were recoverable.

Straps were set inboard. Moving the mast base forward a couple of cm ahead of centre seemed to help, but did not eliminate the problem. A change to a 36 cm more swept freeride fin with a similar area seemed to fix the problem.

The stock fin looks great, with no apparent defects. Starboard stock fins are usually pretty good, and Starboard says that the stock fin was developed specifically for the board, so I am concerned that I am doing something wrong.

Are other customers having this problem? Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks.

Roger 15th June 2008 11:31 AM

Hi SpeedyG,
I didn't get a Futura 122 this year, but I did get a Futura 133 and the Isonic 111.
I have found a small, but easily fixable problem with the fins on both of these boards.
If you run your fingertips over the Drake logo on the fin, you may find that the rear side of the lettering of the logo sticks up slightly above the surface of the foil.
A few minutes with a flat sanding block, with 400 grit wet and dry abrasive cloth and a little water to wet things out and you can smooth out the lettering and blend it into the surrounding foil surface.