Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Free Forum (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Cramps (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8701)

agrelon 25th April 2010 09:17 AM

Cramps

Hi all,

I was wondering if any of you have a special way of avoiding cramps in long sessions of windsurfing.

I know that when I'm overpowered and wearing a wetsuit, after about 4-5h of intense sailing I always cramp up when water starting... either in my calf or my hamstring.

I've heard that drinking a lot of water and eating salt helps. Do any of you do anything particular to avoid cramping up?

Cheers,

Adrien

COACHG 25th April 2010 01:25 PM

I’ve been a coach now for 30 years and I’ve yet to see scientific proof as to the cause of cramps. There have been lots of studies and plenty of theory backed by studies, but no actual physical proof that I have seen. If there was, I guarantee you the professional teams would be all over it.

Here are some of the causes of cramps that I have seen over the years.

1. People with higher fast twitch muscle fibers tend to be more susceptible to cramps. What I mean is that people that are genetically predisposed to be sprinters are far more likely to get cramps then people who are genetically predisposed to be distance runners.
2. Conditioning. People who are out of shape are far more likely to get cramps, especially when doing extreme exercising.

3. Tight fitting clothing, wet suits or spandex appears to increase the risk of cramps.

4. Heat. Muscle cramps appear far more often on hot days.

5. Hydration. Caused by #1. It’s not just hydration, but what you hydrate with. Soda’s lead to cramps.

You need to get in better shape if you are going to do 4-5 hour sessions overpowered. You may need to take more breaks and drink more water or gatorade type drinks.

Coachg

Farlo 25th April 2010 03:10 PM