Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Windsurfing School (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Freeride sail options (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=904)

Roly Gardner 5th January 2007 06:40 PM

Freeride sail options

Happy New Year All

Further to my thread last year, I am looking to buy two sails for my recently purchased Carve 145. Roger suggested the T Bird T3. Are there any similar style sails that I could consider?

I am new to the sport having been learning the basics in 2006. I sail on the UK south coast where winds tend to be moderate - force 2/4 typically. At around 165 pounds, what size sails should I purchase to enable me to sail and get planing in the widest wind range please?

Thank You

Roger 6th January 2007 11:49 AM

RE: Freeride sail options

Hi again Roly,
We'll wait a bit here and see what other sailors may suggest.
Similar sails (both new and used) would be the Sailworks Retro,
Severne Gator, Gasstra GTX or Pilot,
You would be looking for a Free race or Freeride no-cam or maybe 2 cam
recreational sail.
Hope this helps,

Roly Gardner 10th January 2007 04:50 PM

Hi Roger

Thats great as I have a choice of new Gaastra rigs with either 6.0 or 6.5 sails. I wonder which I ought to go for considering that I am new to the sport? I am tempted to go larger and borrow smaller rigs from my club if I don't take to the larger sail at first. That would mean I had a 460 mast and could go a little larger in due course. Any thoughts. I am not sure that .5 of a sq m is going to make a great deal of difference anyhow.

Cheers

Roly

Roger 11th January 2007 01:33 PM

Hi Roly,
I'd suggest the 6.5 m2 and then look for a 7.5-8.0 m2 that may fit on your 460 cm mast.
On a big board like the Carve 144 you can easily hold down a 6.5 m2 (at your 165 lbs.) in Force 4 Bft (13-18 knots).