Starboard Forums

Starboard Forums (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/index.php)
-   Free Forum (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Rio or Go, and what size??? (http://www.star-board-windsurfing.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9415)

nmccarthy 19th August 2010 02:01 AM

Rio or Go, and what size???

I am a beginner who gets to windsurf a couple of times a year, always with a different board and rig. So to progress I need to buy my own gear which I now have time to justify.

I live on the shoreline of a large lake in Finland. It is a low wind environment so I will be mostly sailing in 6 to 9 m/s winds with flat water.

I am a sporty kind of bloke with good balance and expect to progress fast (famous last words). With that in mind I have been advised to get a Go and not a Rio as I "will regret getting the Rio after a month". I weigh 83kg.

So if I had to buy my rig today I would get a Go 144 with a 7sqm sail, adding different sails once I work out what I am doing. Am I on the right track or very misinformed? I would appreciate some advice from people who have been through this experience or anyone who knows more about this kind of stuff.

Many thanks,
Nick

Roger 19th August 2010 09:40 AM

Hi Nick,
Welcome to the Starboard Forums!
Let's see 6 m/s to 9 m/s is 11.66 knots to 17.5 knots.
OK, so now we have the wind speed and the sailor weight (83 Kg. = 182.9 lbs.).
Have you ever sailed a board without a centerboard/daggerboard in fully planing mode (i.e.
the front 2/3 of the board is out of the water and the board is planing on the remaining 1/3 (from the
front footstraps in the rear position to the tail of the board)?
Until the wind gets up to around 14 knots, I do not think you will be planing on a 7.0 m2 sail on the GO 144.
If you know how to make a true shortboard (i.e. no centeboard/daggerboard/center fin.... just the rear fin)
stay upwind already, then you will take to the GO 144 like a duck to water.