Go Back   Starboard Forums > Windsurfing School

Old 28th April 2007, 02:54 AM   #1
windsurferdagg

Send a message via MSN to windsurferdagg
Default lighet wind with a couple of questions

Alright, i guess im a veteran to this forum... lol i ask a lot of questions... but here goes another one,

Alrighty, I just bought a 2006 Naish redline sail for a pretty good price used for some lighter wind fun. I as you know have a G0 139 and the addition to this 7.6 would really compliment the race fin that came with my go (the 48 NR). Just wondering about lighter wind sailing compared to higher wind sailing. I figured pumping might be a bit harder with a 7.6 so scratch that for my main technique for getting up onto a plane... Here are my questions:

1. I just got some new hanress lines (lol as you know with my last post) that are 24-28 Dakine Classic Reactive. Should they be shorter for earlier planning?

2. Also should i set up the footstraps in the intermediate setting (middle of the board) to get planing faster? or keep them on the rail...

3. Should the footstraps be further forward? or more back for the fin pressure in lighter winds...

4. And what do people mean by the maintaining fin pressure to keep on a plane in a lull? usually when a lull hits, im schlogging again

I guess it depends on how well im powered on the new 7.5 but i was just wondering to really get all the wind range i can out of my Go, my 6.6 and my 7.6 (for the lighter days (im guessing around 13 knots and lower. I am roughly 145-150 soaking wet, 5 11 to 6 foot. Last year i could scratch up onto a plane in around 12 knots with my 6.6 and just hanging off of it etc... but this year im 10-15 pounds heavier...

Thanks for your help,

Thomas
windsurferdagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2007, 11:35 AM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Default RE: lighet wind with a couple of questions

Hi Thomas,
Ummm... what is it about pumping that you think will be more difficult with the 7.6 vs your 6.6?