Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 17th April 2008, 01:56 AM   #1
Klint

Default Maui Sails carbon boom or NP X9?

I have a NP X9 which is a brilliant product. Now I'm looking for a larger boom (i.e ca 190-240) for my race sails, choise is between X9 and the Maui Sails carbon boom. I have no experience from the Mauisails boom, what is it like? As good as the X9?

/ Andy
Klint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 03:34 AM   #2
Ken

I can't speak for the X9's but I have the Maui Sails Carbon Race 230-290 for my 9.2 TR-3 sail. I don't know of anything you could do to make the boom better. The only negatives are the weight, which makes it extemely stiff and the cost. I guess you get what you pay for.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2008, 03:48 AM   #3
steveC

Hi Andy,

I have the Maui Sails Carbon Wave 170-230 boom, and I can say without a doubt that it's an outstanding product worthy of consideration. Although the MS Carbon Race 190-240 offers larger OD arms and a different tail piece than my wave boom, I think that you will find that it offers very similar benchmark features throughout. What I find so impressive is that design engineering is truly simple and direct and everything so works so flawlessly. In particular, the front end is the best I've ever tried. You ought to check it out first hand to really see how good it is.

On my larger 2004 HPL boom, I retrofited it with the MS front end and the result is just incredible. Infinitely better than the original HPL front end. No question, a total plus upgrade one can depend on.