Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 26th February 2009, 08:27 PM   #1
Klint

Default New lightwind race / slalom sail

Iím on the search for a 9,0 ish race / slalom sail to be paired with an iS 133 for light wind performance. I appreciate a grunty sail with good bottom end power for early planning but without offsetting balance too much when the wind picks up.

Any recommendations here? Iíve considered 2009 Gaastra Vapor 9,3, MS TR-5 9,2, Severne Code Red 9,5 or and North Warp 9,0. Which one do you consider to match the above description the best?

thanks,

/ Andy
Klint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2009, 09:30 PM   #2
geo

Hi Andy,
I have no experience on big slalom sails but know very well the maui Sails TR- series and how they behave. Can only say good. Mind their way of expressing power is DIFFERENT from other sails: don't misunderstand lack of lateral pull for lack of power!!! One has to understand that stability in their case is achieved through 1 or 2 more (stiff tube) battens, rather than extra high tension. This is good on the mast (won't break, or at least not as easily as with other sails) AND causes the different behaviour. This should fit your requirements better than most/all other designs.
I have a set of new TR-5's ready fore use now, but didn't put any on the water yet, as is for '09 materials for most people. Anyhow I have rigged them and, from what I see (deeper draft, very smooth even twist, less luff curve), I can expect those to be substantially more powerful than TR-4's and still very soft feeling... we will see.
geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2009, 10:03 PM   #3
Unregistered

Hallo Andy,
I've a Vapor 9,0 2008 and its mast for sale.
Sailed it with the new 133 and result impressed me.Very quick planning and good stability in medium wind (17-18 k)
But I'm changed sail sponsor so...
Let me know you email if you're interested and I'll send you some pic.
Old 26th February 2009, 10:36 PM   #4