|
|
#1 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NW England,
Posts: 661
|
I received the following PM from a member called "SuperModer" claiming to be a forum administrator. The asked me to follow a link to sort out. On first appearances, it looks like a scam?? Do I follow the instructions or should I ignor it?
Dear, gaby57;namreh;seanw;Carlos;mark h! A virus alert was noticed on your computer. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.org/gaby57;...nw;Carlos;mark h If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.). ---------------------------------------------------- Forum Administration www.star-board.com.
__________________
Cheers - Mark H The toys: iSW44 - - iSW49 - iSW53 - iSW58 - iS107 - iS137 - F161. North Warps: F2011 5.2m, 5.7m, 6.3m, 7m, 8m, 8.6m, 9.5m F2006 11m. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Member
|
Looks like a scam mate to get you to click on the link which probably contains a virus
Don't click on the link mate
__________________
Alastair IRL-250 KA Sails ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Chinook ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Vector Maui Fins ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Pro Motion Wetsuits ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Wind & Wave ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Curve ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) Windsurfingfins ( To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) KA Koncept 4.4, 5.0, 5.8, 6.6, 7.5, 8.3, 9.5 KA Kaos 4.2, 4.7, 5.3, KA Kult 5.8, 6.4m Starboard - Isonic Speed W53, Phantom 380, Quatro 85l Evil Twin Custom. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Dream Team - School Guru
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,060
|
Hi Mark,
I would delete it off your computer as fast as you can. The Starboard moderators were getting similar SPAM a couple of weeks ago. If it's not from "Tony@star-board.com" or one of the moderators you recognize from forum replies/activity, it did not come from Starboard. Tony and Ian are the "super moderators" and I have never known either one to send out anything like what you describe. Roger |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NW England,
Posts: 661
|
Cheers guys. Luckly I thought better and did not click on the link. I'm pretty crap with PC's so thought I'd check first
![]() Cheers again
__________________
Cheers - Mark H The toys: iSW44 - - iSW49 - iSW53 - iSW58 - iS107 - iS137 - F161. North Warps: F2011 5.2m, 5.7m, 6.3m, 7m, 8m, 8.6m, 9.5m F2006 11m. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
|
got exactly the same just delated and ran a virus check nothing found in computor so obviously a scam of some sort
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
TEAM
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,241
|
Nobody from Starboard will ever send you a warning message about the viral status of your computer simply because the virus infection of your computer is nobody's business except that of your antivirus software. Anything else is pure BS, even if it is signed by tony@star-board.com !
Use common sense and don't be fooled around by fake warning... Cheers! JM |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
|
Each time I go to the Starboard forum's I also get this. I delete it but it takes the fun out of visiting the site.
Sam. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Real volume F 155 and F166 | LK | Ask Our Team | 4 | 17th July 2008 08:52 PM |
| Please quote real volume - To Starboard . | Ronny | Free Forum | 7 | 7th May 2008 10:27 PM |
| Futura 101 real volume | IchA | Ask Our Team | 1 | 21st August 2007 05:49 AM |
| A real STARTBOARD LONGBOARD??? | crazychemical | Free Forum | 21 | 17th February 2007 01:46 AM |