Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 8th February 2011, 12:57 AM   #1
peter stuyvesant

Default beginner board

hi, i'm a 105 kg, 45yr old beginner having only had about 6 hours of lessons. i'm wanting to buy a board which i will use both for inland water and later when i improve, in the ocean.
I'm looking for a board that i will manage as a complete novice but i also do not want to have to upgrade in a couple of months time. Would a Go 175 be suitable or what would you suggest?
peter stuyvesant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 04:17 AM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Hello Peter,
At 105 Kg. ( 231 lbs.) the Go 175 is going to be a bit marginal for volume, unless you have been using
a 170-180 liter board for your 6 hours of lessons.
The Go 175 does not have a centerboard...... did you take your lessons on a board with a centerboard in it?
Something with around 200 liters of volume might make getting from where you are (perhaps not planing
yet?) to fully planing without a centeboard/daggerboard/centerfin significantly easier for you.
If you are already planing on a 180 liter short board without a center board, then yes, the GO 175 (GO 171 for 2011) would be a good choice.
Hope this helps,
Roger
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 10:32 AM   #3
peter stuyvesant

Hi Roger

My lessons where on a 200L Starboard without daggerboard(don't remember which model). I however did not plane with it. What board do you suggest bearing in mind that i don't want to upgrade in a couple of months.
Old 8th February 2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Hi Peter,
OK, now that we are clear on your skill level, I think the GO 175/171 is probably your best choice.
It may be a little more difficult to uphaul than the 200 liter you've been on (a bit less "float" and perhaps a little more "tippy" due to not being as wide) but you will get beyond that fairly quickly.