Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 9th September 2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Corvette

Question Sail size for a beginner girl

Hi,

what sail size would you recommend for a 115 lb (52 kg) girl learning to windsurf? She had two short sessions already, so it's not a complete beginner, but still needs to cover the basics (turns & sailing back to the point). Coming from other sports she's a fast learner with good balance.

Learning will be mostly between 5-10 knots of wind on a modern 150-liter board (either my Formula Experience or used Starboard Go or similar).

I was thinking about 3.5-4.0 m2 for a start? Are any particular sail types to be avoided for learning? Budget is important so we were looking for used rigs.

The plan is to learn the basics on a larger board and then move to something smaller, say 115-130 liter where she can progress to harness & straps (and myself use it in higher winds ).
Old 10th September 2012, 12:33 PM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Since I teach beginners and the majority of them are women and girls, I think you are close to correct here.
I see you wish to purcahse used gear and have a budget.
That can prove to be a huge problem.
Smaller women and girls really need the lightest windsurfing rigs you can buy...regardless of cost.
Buy her something in that size range that's heavy...designed for high winds or wavesailing, and she will hate it because it has no power in 5-10 knots of wind, and actually... it's just too heavy.
My suggestion would be something like a 4.2 meter Sailworks Retro Ripper on a 370 cm Sailworks Backbone trainer mast. Get a light weight trainer boom to go with it and she will love it and progress very quickly.
These sails actually have remarkable power (for their size) and work well in your stated windspeeds.
Roger
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2012, 01:48 AM   #3
Sailboarder