Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 18th August 2008, 12:24 PM   #1
Jens Berger

Default Carbon vs wood: durability?

Hi Folks,

Now that you have a new construction method the inevitable question of durability comes up I guess? I know it's early days, but what the concensus on which construction will handle the rigours of wave sailing better? I've been riding my technora Evo since 2003, and now that I'm about to update I'm after something that will be equally long lived, so do I go carbon or wood?

A friend of mine creased his carbon kevlar waveboard (made by one of your competitors) after only 1 season, and while he got a replacement under warrantee, it's not ideal of course.

Cheers, Jens
Jens Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2008, 08:39 PM   #2
Ola_H
TEAM

The idea is that the Wave Carbon boards should be as strong. Lighter but with stronger materials so therefor more expensive. So its more weight vs money than weight vs strength.

But in practice there is no way of _really_ knowing, I would say. I've put mine though some hard sailing, on the rocks, collisions and stuff, and it handles that well. And of course a lot of strength testing have een done before production. But the wood dur-x constructions is _proven_ for many years with very, very low warranty rates. So if durability is your no 1 priority I think it is a wiser decision to go with wood.
Ola_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 08:39 AM   #3
Jens Berger

Thanks Ola-sounds sensible.
Jens Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2008, 08:04 PM   #4
van

Hi Ola

My question is the following. You only offer the wood carbon construction in the models that are going to get pounded more often from waveriding, jumps, freestyle tricks yet on the iSonic/Futuras where the weight of the board must be kept to a minimum you don't. Why is that?