Default Front Foot! :-(

Hi,

Isonic 86 2009
I'm 178 cm and 70 kg.
I'm using a NP RS slalom 6.2

Rear streps in the middle outboard
Front streps all back inboard.

Garda Lake ... 30 to 60 cm chop.

I don't feel confident at all with my front foot, even going downwind. The weight is mostly on my back leg and sometimes the foot goes out of the strap ... over 30 knots it could be dangerous.

No problem at all with my isonic 111 2009 (that i'm using with different and bigger sails)

I've read lot of posts ... the boom, the mast track position ... the straps ..tried all ... with little results.

Could be the sail?

HELP!

:-)

Giorgio
docgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 10:00 PM   #2
Ola_H
TEAM

I'm not a slalom sailor and I have little experience with this, but my guess is that the most effective way to trim away that excessive back foot feel that make the front foot "loose" in the strap might be by some sail tuning, most likely more downhaul. That will open up the head more and push sail power lower down in the sail. And since you are sailing the sail raked back, the effect will be that the power moves a bit forward. This might give you a more balanced stance.

Boom and mast track can change your stance too, but since you tried that, the downhaul trick might be worth a try.
Ola_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 11:15 PM   #3
docgr

Thanks for the advice.

Downhul ... 'i've tried ... now i'm 2 cm over the reccomended setting and the head of the sail is really opened ....

It is frustrating ... :-( .. but thanks! :-)
Old 6th November 2009, 01:38 AM   #4
nonopr

too small of a fin. Too much pressure on the back foot.
nonopr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 04:35 AM   #5
mark h

I used to get this with my front slipping out, but only up-wind. The cure was two things.