Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 12th June 2007, 07:40 PM   #1
ama

Send a message via MSN to ama
Default Phantom 301 cm or Start M?

Hi

Kids from 11 to 19,is going to learn windsurfing. No experience.

Should i go for an Start M, or Phantom 301.

I like the with of the Start's M 90 cm Phantom 80

I have seen experienced local club members do quite well on Starts in strong wind with 5.5 sails, could we do that with Phantom too, or it is more like the old ones.

I have doubt here at what i should go for of these two. Was keen on getting a Start M, as our family board, but get an advice about the Phantom too?

Anybody shed some light on these.

ama
ama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 11:54 AM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Default RE: Phantom 301 cm or Start M?

Hello Ama,
The Start (especially the older Starts) are the best boards for absolute beginners.
Whether to get the Start L or the Start M will depend on the weight of your kids.
Once they've sailed the Start and have their basic skills( uphauling, getting the basic position "T" alignment, stepping back to get both feet behind the mast foot, balancing the rig over the mast foot, and rotating the shoulders (from the hips) to power up the sail, basic tacks and flare or rope jibes) the Phantom 301 will be fine.
Since they are kids, they will figure things out pretty quickly, and they might do all right on the Phantom, right from the start, but it would be better to have someone else in your club (perhaps someone who has a Start or can use the club's Starts) teach them the basics and then they will be ready for the Phantom 301.
Oh, and a 5.5 m2 rig is far too big for beginners. Might not be too big for you larger children, but for sure too heavy.