Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 15th July 2007, 03:15 PM   #1
Doc Dino

Default Flare 99 or 111

Yiassas

Some help from the freestylers please!

I'm seriously obsessed with vulcanolgy & trying spocks but v badly! Going for a flare but not sure which size. I'm 78kg & want a dedicated freestyle board for F4-5. (I've got RRD 95/78 FSW's for stronger winds)

99 would seem ideal but wondered if 111 would give more planing time in marginal conditions (often found in my home waters!!!)?

Am I right that the dimensions for 111 are same as 99 (seems like a very good idea)?

26cm fin on 111 does sound big for a freestyle board but I'm no expert! Does it cope well with smalller freestyle fins?

(thought about rrd twintip but like idea of 'gutters' on Flare to save ankles - also nearly 200 quid cheaper than rrd!)

Thanks v much for your help

Dino
Doc Dino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2007, 11:40 PM   #2
Taty Frans
Dream Team NB-9

Default RE: Flare 99 or 111

Hi Dino,

The Flare 99 is the same dimension as the 111 but the 111 is much thicker..

The 99 would be a good size..

I weight 73kg and use the 99 flare with sail sizes 5.2 - 6.0 I mean that´s the biggest freestyle I use.. I never tried bigger sail on it but I know for sure that It can handle a 6.4 sail..

Both board are great that´s for sure,

Yes, the 111 you can use also with a 21 or 22 cm fin,

On the 99 you can use fin sizes 18-21 cm..

Taty Frans NB-9

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Taty Frans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2007, 11:40 PM   #3
Taty Frans
Dream Team NB-9

Hi Dino,

I weight 73kg and use the 99 flare with sail sizes 5.2 - 6.0 I mean that´s the biggest freestyle I use.. I never tried bigger sail on it but I know for sure that It can handle a 6.4 sail..

Taty Frans NB-9

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.