Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 23rd September 2007, 06:24 PM   #1
Unregistered

Default Ultimate light wind speed machine

Hello,

I need some advice concerning light wind sailing. The maximum sail size that I currently use is a NP RS6 9.0m on my iSonic 135 (2006). However I also want to sail in 11.0m conditions, so for next year I'm planning to buy the Gaastra Vapor 11.0m. My iSonic 135 will probably be too small for 11.0m sails. Therefore the plan is to replace the iSonic 135 with a bigger board that will handle the 9.0m and 11.0m race sails bettter. My weight is 90 kg. The board will not be used in competitions but I like to go very, very, very fast!! Which light wind 2008 iSonic would you recommend? Or should I try the Formula 162?

Thanks in advance, good sailing,

LD
Old 24th September 2007, 10:23 PM   #2
Unregistered

I need the same advice!
Maybe Remi can help?

All the best, DWA
Old 24th September 2007, 11:57 PM   #3
James

I'm not an expert, but I have sailed formula, and I think a formula board or the 93 cm wide iSonic would be the best for handling an 11.0. You'll not only be able to go fast, but you'll be able to travel great distances upwind and downwind in no time.
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2007, 04:31 AM   #4
Unregistered

Thank you James for your quick reply.
I also think that the choice will probably be between the two boards that you mentioned. But maybe the iSonic 144 can also do the job.
I've read your interesting post on longboard windsurfing. About a month ago in very light winds I sailed with my iSonic 135 and a NP RS6 9.0m sail and was not able to keep up with a (lighter) windsurfer on a NP RSX with a 9.0 RSX sail. When the wind got somewhat stronger I was able to just keep up with him. In lulls he just sailed away from me. This makes me wonder if boards like the Phantom, Kona or RSX are good alternatives for the new very large slalom boards or formula boads.