Old 18th March 2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Ken

Default Fin for iSonic 111

I have a relatively new 08 iS 111 and will use it mostly for free sailing, but may race occasionally. I will use my 7.5 most often, but will go to my 8.4 and 6.6 on occasion with this board. I weigh 80kg

My experience so far with the Drake fins (38 & 44) that came with the board is that they seem a bit slow. I expected a little faster top speeds (gps) than I am seeing. Could be my sailing skill, but possibly the fins.

The 38 fin will spin out occasionally while pointing slightly up wind in 10 to 20 cm chop, but the real problem is getting the fin back in line after the spin out. Many fins seem to correct easily, but this one doesn't. I know how to pull the fin back in with the back foot, but unless I get it fully back in line, the spinout continues. I have been windsurfing and racing for 25 years and this fin is the worst I have experienced for correcting after a spinout.

I haven't had any real spinout problems with the 44.

Any suggestions for fins that will improve control, increase speed & help with spinout. I usually sail in flat water with small chop (10 - 20cm).

In a previous thread, someone recommended the Deb SL2, which is an option. Does anyone have experience with the Tectonics Gold Wing or any other outstanding slalom fin?

Thanks,

Ken

Last edited by Ken; 19th March 2008 at 01:20 AM.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 09:07 PM   #2
Chris Pressler

Hi Ken,
sailed the Isonic 111 some weeks ago. Quite wide sailrange can be carried by this board. Had a 9,0 on. Would suggest 42 or 44 for 8,4, for the smaller sails from 6,5 - 7,5 36 to 40.
I use myself MFC. They are quite nice,.
But for sure the Deboichet fins are hard to beat, no discussions. Vector should work fine, too.

Good luck for your races,
Chris

www.chrispressler.com

Last edited by Chris Pressler; 24th March 2008 at 11:32 PM.
Chris Pressler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 11:20 PM   #3