Old 23rd June 2008, 03:34 AM   #1
ste

Default Formula 160. Mast track position

Hi,
could you please let me know what is the best mast track position on a F160 (I'm 74 kg. I use a Vapor 11 2007 and a Deb R13 +6 M or a +8 S). As back as possible is fine/correct? Thanks a lot
(I couldn't find any related post from the past...)
ste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2008, 07:52 AM   #2
Ken

I am not an expert, but pretty proficient. I have been racing for 25 years and am still on my 160. A 147 before that and the 175 before that. I weigh 79 kg and use Maui Sails TR -3's 11.0, 9.2 & 8.4 and a Deb R13 +6 M. If you were to number the track from 1-10 (rear to front), I am usually at 4 (slightly back of center) for well powered sailing. Light winds or under powered I go back to 2-3. For heavy winds I go up to 7 to keep the nose down.

Seems to work well for me, others may have a different opinion.

Last edited by Ken; 25th June 2008 at 07:43 PM.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2008, 07:51 PM   #3
SeanAUS120
Dream Team Member

Send a message via Skype™ to SeanAUS120

Hi Ste,

I would try it not right at the back but about 2cm from the back (which is around halfway between the middle and the back or 2-3 on Ken's scale). The reason I suggest to go a little further back than Ken has just mentioned is because you are on the '07 Gaastra sails. The '07 sails had the draft quite far back which meant you have a considerable amount of back hand pressure whilst sailing. Whenever I gave someone a go of my sails (especially after riding a NP sail) they would think it terrible that the sails felt so unstable and back hand twitchy, however I thought it such a positive. Having the backhand pressure meant you always had power to load your fin, even in super light winds and you could really jam on the outhaul in highwinds and still have pressure in your sail (the NP's didn't like excessive outhaul).