Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 17th October 2008, 04:43 PM   #1
juan1

Default boards weight, is important?

I read an article on Boards magazine where they conclude boards weight is no relevant to planning or speed, whats your opinion?
also starboard boards are not usually the lightest but the isonics generally are very well apreciated on all magazine tests
is there an explanation here?
regards juan1
juan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 01:25 AM   #2
Ken

Juan1,

I am not an expert but I believe that:

With all things being equal (sailor skill & weight, board size, sail size, wind and water conditions), a board that weighs less will plane quicker and hit a higher top speed.

Pumping to get on plane works much better with a lighter board since you not only pump the sail, but you also pump the board and fin with your legs.

With less total mass to move, lighter is better.

A lighter board at speed will also have a smaller wetted surface (riding higher in the water) and will generate less drag = faster speeds.

Take this situation to an extreme - same board design and size, one weighing 10kg and one weighing 100kg. Do you think the 100 kg board will plane as quickly and have the same top speed with all thing being equal but the weight? I think not. However, if the weights were only 2kg apart, the difference in performance would be very, very subtle, but the lighter board would still plane quicker and be faster, just by a small margin.

My thoughts which may or may not be correct.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2008, 05:24 AM   #3
Waiting4wind

Ken, I totally agree with you. I typically have 4 or 5 boards in my fleet some are very light. Sailing those boards I can definitely jump the board onto the plane more easily and keep it there.

My lighter boards are also stiffer and I find that this makes the board feel more direct and responsive to gusts. So as far as I'm concerned +1 for light boards.