Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 19th November 2008, 06:30 PM   #1
henry67

Default TWINZER or TRIFIN?

Hi Guys,
today in the world of pure surfing most of boards are with trifin system and some with singlefin..... twins are basically disappeard.......
....so I'm not able to understand why on windsurf world research&development is so slow....
Windsurf shapers needed more than 20 years to understand that boards were to be shorter and larger..... now I'm hoping they don't need another 20 years to understand that trifin is more efficient than twin system......
I leave you this interesting link where it is described the evolution around multi fin concept on windsurf boards....
http://www.witchcraft.nu/trifin.php

Cheers

ps: I'm not a witchcraft promoter or employee... I'm only a surfer/windsurfer a lit of bit bored with windsurf immobility on innovations.....
henry67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 05:51 AM   #2
jan1

Default fins

Hi here an other overview about fin variations:
http://www.ahd-deutschland.de/thruster.htm

Latest fins used by JP are quads- combination of twinser and truster
check out here:
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_czUfPbJKZi.../kauli1+09.jpg

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_czUfPbJKZi...h/PICT0188.JPG
jan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 02:53 PM   #3
Ola_H
TEAM

Starboard actually did a lot of testing with tri fin setups in the 2009 proto season. In the end, the twin fins performed better.

One might speculate about the reasons, but it is pretty obvious surfing and windsurfing are not 100% compatible. For one, windsurfers are generally going faster and you have to consider straightline planing, not only wave performance etc etc. And even if you go into the finer part of how turns are made you're gonna see differences.