Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th March 2009, 08:04 AM   #1
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default North mast for race sails

Do the older xcellerator/viper masts work ok in the newer north race sails? Specifically I'm thinking about getting an older 460 north mast, and I want to make sure I can use it in the future when I plan to get an f2008 slalom sail. It doesn't have to be ideal, just want to make sure the cams will rotate and I'll get decent wind range.
thanks!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Farlo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 531
Default

My experience with race sails is limited, but I've been using North XC60 for more than 10 years on many recent North and Naish (SDM) sails without any problem. They just get better with age.
Farlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 10:39 PM   #3
michelb
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chile, Santiago
Posts: 92
Send a message via MSN to michelb
Default

That makes me cry.... Just 3 years ago I sell my North XC80 510. That is one of the big mistakes I did in my ws life. These masts were really bullet proof. And with a little les or more eficiency rig all the sails you put on it. Go get your XC. After the XC80 I broke 5 masts ( 1 powerex, 3 Gaastras, 1 Fiberspar). I sword that if I find a used XC 80 I will buy it again.

Michel
michelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 01:08 AM   #4
Farlo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 531
Default

Side-on sell equivalent masts. They claim to have the former North Drop Shape design. They have 50% and 75% carbon (SDM). I have bought 4.30 and 4.60 just in case I would break my XC's, and although slightly thicker I can rig the same sails. Unfortunately they have no distribution in Americas. Try http://www.side-on.fr

Last edited by Farlo; 26th March 2009 at 10:33 PM.
Farlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009, 10:04 PM   #5
michelb
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chile, Santiago
Posts: 92
Send a message via MSN to michelb
Default

Farlo,

Not lucky for me.... just up to 490 I need a 520 and a 550.

Thanks anyway,

Michel.
michelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +7. The time now is 01:45 PM.