Go Back   Starboard Forums > Windsurfing School

Old 28th March 2009, 01:36 AM   #1
B737

Question Seeking advice, complete beginner acquiring gear

Hello,
New to the forums seeking some help on getting some gear.
I only have about 5 hours experience on the water, on a trainer windsurfer and I really enjoyed it.

I have a lead on someone who wants to get rid of gear in their garage for $100, 3 sails, and a 190 liter bic reggae long board.

im 5'11", 180 pounds, 31 yrs.

I will be using the board off of New Jersey.

can you guys give me some pointers as to questions i need to ask, or things i need to look at if i go check this guys equipment out?

I understand the fundamentals and basics of the equipment but thats really it. Ideally id like to find my own gear to take a few more lessons with locally rather than to continue to rent.

for 100 bucks im looking at this as pretty much free, i just want to make sure im looking for the right things...

thanks for your time!!

Kevin

Last edited by B737; 28th March 2009 at 08:16 AM.
B737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 07:29 AM   #2
B737

i got some more info from the owner, the board was used for about 2 years, about 2 dozen times, its been in his garage for TEN years

the sails are 7.0 4.5 and 5.7 they are mylar, he said the mast is fiberglass, all the glass is in good shape even cosmetics are clean. im going to go down to look at it but im not sure what i need to be on the look out for...
Old 28th March 2009, 09:43 AM   #3
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Hi B 737,
First, what sort of "trainer windsurf" board were you on when you learned.
Was it a long board (like the Bic Reggae you are considering) or did you learn
on a more modern wide trainer board.
You CAN get through all your basics on the Bic Reggae, but it may not be easy.
Where on the Jersey shore do you plan to sail.
I'm pretty familiar with most of the windsurfing sites in NJ.