Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 7th May 2009, 04:13 PM   #1
unforgettable

Default trouble in "waves"

need a little hint...I can define myself an intermediate surfer, can jibe, tack , hely etc etc butr quite a rookie on waves. I was in a very mushy onshore foamy conditions well powered up with my evo 80l ( 4.7 sail, 25-30 kts, me 85 kilos) one of the first sessions ever with this board. Well when jibing down to the steep chops I ve many times sinked the board on the rails and I was history...I know I bent my knees as usual , I know I haven t pushed too hard on the back foot but instead let the board curve by a distributed pressure on both feet...but ..well that s repeated mistake made me very depressed......wind fell afterward a tad, I swapped board ( kode 112 with 26 fin) sail ( 5.6) and I was jibing and surfing between chops as a charm. wtf was Ipossibly doing wrong with the other board ? as a rookie I couldn t understand myself..if someone can figure this out ...thanx
unforgettable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 10:24 AM   #2
wiindz

i think it might just be that you where a bit under powered on your evo, 25-30knts im on a 4.7, but im about 15kgs lighter then you, and am on a 88l board, so maybe you where just a bit under, if the wind went down a bit and you where perfect on a 5.6 and 112l, i think you just under rigged... 5.6 with your evo would have probobly worked pretty well i would think... anyways, dont beat yourself up over it, it was only your first sesion on the board anyways, it always takes a couple to get used to a new board... give it a little while, juggle around your sails a bit, i think that should solve your problem ;p
fair winds,
tom
wiindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 05:13 PM   #3
Unregistered

Wink Finesse

Smaller board, more rocker and gutless waves requires a light touch with your feet and leaning really well forward on the board going into the gybe.