Go Back   Starboard Forums > Free Forum

Old 29th May 2009, 04:40 PM   #1
cafukarfoo

Default Phantom 320 vs BIC T293 OD vs Rio

Hi guys,

I plan to buy a board. I am a beginner who have no idea how to do planning and using harness.

I would like to have a board that let me progress from now to intermediate stage.

Can you guys give me some opinion based on 3 option below?

1. Starboard Phantom 320
2. BIC T293 OD ( I prefer this because of the wider tail width which i believe can help in doing gybe )
3. Starboard Rio
cafukarfoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2009, 03:35 AM   #2
Unregistered

Talking conwell by

RIO , medium, unless you are very heavy above 100 kgs and need the extra stability.
Then buy the large. but i caoution this as I saw the large, and its darn big. The medium was much smaller and I was suprised by the size difference. On the website the large does not look much larger then the meduim but IT IS.

The small is good but only if you a smaller person.

My opinion on the RIO is based on the early planing and beginner criteria.The other boards are "ok" for your criteria .
- The phantom is a mini course board, but a widestyle is better for learning.
- The techo is a hybrid board , that bic tried to get to olympic status.

I am sure you know alot of this.

Other criteria may be looking down the line, course board racing then the phantom would be OK not great but Ok ( terrible if your heavy)
the bic if there is a fleet in your area so maybe you can race ,if
you want.

shredulato
Old 30th May 2009, 05:11 AM   #3
Unregistered

You really need to say more about yourself and requirement.
Weight, age, type of location, desired style of sailing.