Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 18th June 2009, 08:43 AM   #1
novice

Default Futura 122 vs. Kode 122

I have a Go 155 that I've been using for several years and want to get a smaller, lighter board. I am 148 lbs, 5'8", 57 yrs; I'm using the harness, middle front footstraps and forward rear straps positions, can beach start (not well in deep water), gybe (not carve, not pretty), tack (not always, not pretty), can plane and waterstarting is on my to do list. I sail in a lagoon with chop and will try the ocean when my skills improve.

I'm trying to figure out the difference between the Futura 122 and the Kode 122. I've read the Starboard data. I've ridden the Futura and the front straps seem too far back to me; top speed is not important to me.

Are the front strap inserts more forward and inboard on the Kode 122?

I need a comfortable, light weight board that I can uphaul while I progress with my skills.
novice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 11:46 AM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Hello Novice,
At your weight, you would be able to uphaul either the Futura 122 or Kode 122 with ease.
Both have plenty of float.
Not sure why you have not progressed further back into the more advanced footstraps on your GO 155.
Either the Kode or Futura 122 will almost demand that you move a little further back on the board as this is where your weight needs to be to get satisfactory performance (which you may have been missing on your GO 155) from these boards.
Where the footstraps are, thus where your weight needs to be, is based on the rockerline; rocker transition; and planing surface location on the bottom of these boards.
If you do not get your weight far enough back on the board, the nose cannot lift enough to get the bow wave under your board to move back beyond the rocker transition.
So, the board will not get up on top of the water and plane easily and freely.

Futura 122 122 244.0 72.0 47.3 7.05 7.35
Kode 122 122 235.0 72.0 46.6 9.8