Go Back   Starboard Forums > Ask Our Team

Old 30th September 2009, 04:47 PM   #1
Arvad

Default Rio M - how to get planning faster...

Hi,

Im fairly new to the sport, but have managed to master the trapeze and starting to get into the straps when I can get my board planning.

But Im having some trouble getting my board into a plane unless, it's really windy. Im 180cm and my weight is around 85kg, my sail - or atleast the one I use the most is a Neil Pryde Spirt 7.2 twin camber sail.

Should it be a problem to get this setup planning in 15 - 17knots winds?

I can't figure out if its my technique/skills, that need work - or if I should get a bigger sail perhaps even a 9.0?

Thx

Arvad
Arvad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2009, 06:34 AM   #2
Roger
Dream Team - School Guru

Hi Arvad,
Where do you have your footstraps (forward, middle, to the rear).
Your 7.2 m2 rig should have you flying along in 15 -17 knots at 85 Kg.
Do you have the center board down or up..... and, what fin are you using
in the back of the board?
Where do you have your mast foot placed in the slot...front.... middle...rear?
The Rio M is pretty easy to get on plane, so I'm guessing you may have some
sort of tuning issue.
What year model is your Rio M? Is it start based (wide and short 2007 & earlier) or is it the later longer narrower Rio M 2008 & 2009.
Hope this helps,
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2009, 02:15 PM   #3
Arvad

Hi Roger,

My footstraps are in the middle position, center board always up, the board is a 2008 model, I'm using the Drake fin that came with the board. Boom in shoulder height, trapeze lines 28"

I have been playing around with the mast foot placement, and have been sailing with the mast foot forward of the center position for some time now.
I'm trying to sail with so much power as possible in my sail, and I feel that I have enough strength to handle the 7.2 sail.