Old 28th November 2009, 07:46 AM   #1
Unregistered

Default Constant Curve Mast

Hi,

Does anyone know is the shape of the "constant curve" mast of say Northsails same as Gaastra, Severne etc? If i'm not using the top end race sail like warp or code red, but just Ram, S-type, x-type, Overdrive, NCX how would the performance of the sail be if I use the mast of another brand?
(I don't have very deep pockets so i can't be changing mast every time i change a sail, and in the used sail market i can only buy what is available at the time of purchase :-(
Old 28th November 2009, 10:26 PM   #2
joe_windsurfer

i am by no means an expert on the subject

however, have had some discussion and done some reading on the web

my understanding is the ideal thing to do is purchase the mast from the same vendor as the sail ie recommended mast

however, there seem to be 2 categories called constant curve and flex top

north sails to my understanding is flex top and NOT constant curve

the constant curves are : MauiSails, Gaastra, Sailworks, Aerotech, Naish, Severne, Autima, Fiberspar and Powerex - some people say MS is a bit softer lower

some flex tops are:NorthSails, NielPryde, Ezzy and Hot Sails Maui

this seems to be one reason why people stick to one brand of sail. i use autima with MS and Gaastra - the rest is how you rig it - downhaul n outhaul
joe_windsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2009, 03:04 AM   #3
sivagriva

Look at this (almost a Bible about masts and....):http://www.peterman.dk/start-windsurfing-gb01.htm
sivagriva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 12:49 AM   #4
PG

Hard top:
Maui Sails and Gaastra. Severne RDM are also Hard top (around 10% bend curve), but their SDM masts are closer to the traditional 12% Constant Curve (or average bend).

Flex top: Neil Pryde, and Tushingham SDM masts. Maybe also some of the Hot Sails Maui.